Writing Journal 1

“My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word. Mine eyes fail for thy word, saying, When wilt thou comfort me? For I am become like a bottle in the smoke; yet do I not forget thy statutes.” Psalm 119: 81-83

These verses strike me the most out Psalm 119. So often I feel completely filled with a longing that cannot be satisfied. I long to be with Jesus, not merely in spirit, but in flesh. C. S. Lewis said, “If I find in myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.” Sometimes my longing drives me to great lengths. Growing up I went to a Christian summer camp where I vividly experienced the presence of God. After being gone for many years, I found myself pining to go back. All that I could explain to myself was simply that I long for God. I longed to go back so that I could feel his presence. When did go back I wasn’t fully satisfied. I realized then that only in heaven will I fully be satisfied. It gives me great comfort to know that David felt exactly the same.

Leave a Reply

