My God, Abide With Me

My God, Abide With Me

My God, my God! When will you save?

Make every effort to rescue me!

Many are the tears that fall for want of help.

May your comfort come quickly.

Masquerading as whole will not heal me.

Manifest your promised consolation to me.

More than the stars are your mercies.

Magnify me, that I might be consoled.

 

You have promised never to forsake.

Yea, you have said you will not rejectme.

Years have passed and you have not abandoned me.

Yet where can I find your presence? Have you gone?

Yield to my cry for your aid! Do not turn away!

Yearning fills the depths of my soul, because of your absence.

Your promises feel far beyond my reach.

Yahweh, do not leave me!

Romance my wandering heart, Oh God.

Rule the stumbling wars of my spirit.

Rebuke my sin.

Refuse to let me stray.

Reclaim the wayward courses of my heart.

Renew the filthy recesses of my soul.

Resonate within me, that I may not falter.

Regenerate me so that I blunder no more.

Abide with me in my sorrows,

Are you not a God who is ever present?

Arise, Oh God, and come to me.

Aidme, for you have promised to reside with me.

Accept my cry for your attendance!

Assist me, and stay at my side.

Allow me to ever be beside you.

Adorn me with the gift of your company.

Justify the righteous, Oh God!

Judge the nations of evil!

Join together your forces to eradicate the wicked.

Jeer at the annihilation of the false.

Jilt their pleasures.

Jealousy corrupts them. Condemn it!

Jesus, crush the heads of the sinful!

Jehovah, bring peace by exorcizing the malicious.

On the wicked bring judgment.

Order the wayward peoples to be cast down.

Obliterate the vile.

Offend the malicious.

Overthrow their vicious crimes.

Overwhelm the forces of evil.

Obey the Lord, ye perverse nations.

Observe the destruction of sinners.

How long will I wait for your favor?

Have my sins pushed away your compassion?

Hath not the Lord promised to forgive?

He has promised to forebear.

Hear my cry in your kindness!

Heal me out of your wondrous mercies.

Help me! For you are a gracious God.

Hope in the benevolence of the Lord.

Nothing satisfies my yearning.

No amount of tears will quench my longing.

Never will my zeal find respite.

None of my pleasures will satiate my desires.

Neither assuage the thirst in my heart.

Nor do the comforts of my friends quiet the cries within me.

Not even my prayers content me.

Night replaces my craving to be fulfilled.

Surely the Lord is not too far to rescue!

So many cry out to be unchained!

Save us, Oh God!

Send help to us.

Sin strangles our efforts.

Sever our bonds!

Set us free!

Show us your promised redemption.

Touch the weak out of your compassion.

Tender, are the ways of the Lord.

Tremendous, is the amount of his kindness.

Teach us gently to walk in your way.

Thy mercies are many to behold.

The sweetness of the Lord is astonishing.

Too many to number, are his blessings.

Tell the nations of his glorious care!

Oh God, pour out your blessing upon this starving world.

Open the floodgates of heaven. Rain mercies on the land.

Overflow miracles in the land of the righteous.

Observe our sorrows and rescue us!

Old and young, hearten alike.

Only you can fulfill the needs of mankind.

Of all the places to turn, you only can satisfy.

Oblige the calls of your people to save them.

New sorrows afflict your children each morn.

Needy ones cry out.

Nurse the wounds of your creatures.

Narcissism encircles us and tempts us.

Nihilism calls to our weakness.

Noiselessly, troubles assail them.

Now come lift the burdens of your people.

Nobly, you will banish our toils.

Leave a Reply

